Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

crossYou want the real “secret” recipe for positive outcomes in your life? The stuff that will leave a good and significant legacy behind after you are called home one day? Remember one word: Substitution. Let me explain in terms of the addiction that has wasted so much of my life for so long. The only way I have managed to be successful in eating healthier is to substitute ingredients…enjoy the same dishes you love, but make them better for you. The ultimate substitution was what Jesus did for us on the cross…enduring the punishment on His innocent and sacrificial body that my body should have endured as a consequence for my sin. Ever since meeting Him at the foot of the cross, He has become my obsession, my lifelong desire. His secret ingredient was, is, and always will be love…but not as the world “loves.” It is true, God-breathed, agape love as described in 1 Corinthians. Move over Merriam-Webster, this is the definition of real love my friends…ask yourself how often you embody this kind of love:

‘Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known. And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.’ – 1 Corinthians 13:4-13

My husband and I use these verses regularly to evaluate ourselves (note, not each other) and hold ourselves accountable to God for how we are treating each other – with selfishness or with His love. Speaking of my darling husband, he says one of my quirks is how my mind runs in several directions at the same time. As a result, you’ll notice my blog entries often get on tangents.

latteHere’s one now since we’re talking about substitutions…a recipe for a healthy version of one of my favorite drinks: Starbucks’ Eggnog Latte. Now, if you don’t like eggnog, but do want to kick the caffeine habit with all the exhaustion and cellular damage that comes with it, go on with ya, be brave and experiment! (Most coffee – unless it’s organic and consumed in moderation – leads to a chain reaction of negative effects in the body whereas Teeccino is alkaline and good for digestion.) You can substitute all almond milk (e.g., vanilla, chocolate, original, sweetened, unsweetened, etc) for the eggnog. Try adding flavored stevia (e.g., mint, toffee, vanilla, raspberry, etc) to your drink to make anything from a Chocolate Mint Latte to a Mocha Valencia. (Stevia and xylitol are both great low-glycemic alternatives to sugar that sweeten without spiking your insulin like raw sugar or causing cancer like toxic sugar substitutes.) The possibilities are endless and they are all healthy. Ok, enough of the tangent…after the latte recipe, join me in Part 2 where I’ll give you the recipe for leaving an endearing and lasting legacy (and get back on topic)!

Caffeine-Free Eggnog Latte

Ingredients:
– ¼ cup Brewed Strong, Teeccino Caffeine-Free Herbal Coffee (good plain coffee options: Java, Original, or French Roast…or if you’re feeling adventurous, try Vanilla Nut, Hazelnut, French Vanilla, Caramel Nut, or Southern Pecan)
– ½ cup Organic Eggnog (Horizon, Organic Valley, etc)
– ¼ cup Vanilla Almond Milk
– Organic Whipped Cream
– Ground Nutmeg

Directions:
1) Brew ¼ cup of the Teeccino as strong as possible using any method as written on the bag. (I boil the water on the stove and then use an infuser.)

2) On the stove, separately heat up the ¼ cup almond milk and ½ cup (or more to taste) of eggnog, and if desired, use a hand blender to create some froth.

3) Pour the Teecino in your cup, followed by the eggnog mixture.

4) Top with whipped cream and a sprinkle of nutmeg if desired. Enjoy!

Look for “Gimme, Gimme, Gimme…I Need, I Need, Part 4: Submission vs. Selfishness” to be posted soon! Enter your email address on the left to follow this blog and be notified of new postings.

