Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

‘God chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things—and the things that are not—to nullify the things that are,’ – 1 Corinthians 1:28

I talk in this blog of being “brought low” because I have known what it’s like to feel desperate, despised, abandoned, lost, and wretched quite a few times in my life thus far. And every time I think I’ve hit the lowest low, I seem to be surprised with another sink hole. It’s in those low times that I visit my own “thoughtful spot,” much like the one Winnie the Pooh Bear visits to “think, think, think.” For me, it is a place of reflection, humility, repentance, and dependence on the grace of God. Thinking, especially before speaking or acting, is a good thing. When I look back, the words or actions I regret most are the ones that had no thought, or not enough thought, behind them. Perhaps because my gaze was fixed on the bottom of the honey pot instead of up above where it belonged.

I have a…well, let’s say “colorful” past full of learning things the hard way, and – if left to my own devices – I tend to be angry, stubborn, critical, negative, selfish, vengeful, judgmental, and demanding. Proverbs 21:9 says, “Better to live on a corner of the roof than share a house with a quarrelsome wife.” Don’t think my hubby hasn’t thought about moving up there a few times! Yet, I’ve also managed, by God’s goodness working through me, to demonstrate quite a few instances of forgiveness, love, nurturing, compassion, encouragement, charity, laughter, strength, perseverance, and, even though it’s not been that often, gentleness. I have a long way to go on that last one; being gentle definitely does not come naturally to me! It’s about progress, not perfection. God will do the work inside of you; you just need to want to change and allow Him to change you. Pray for humility, love, and gratitude to purify your heart in increasing measures and you will be pleasantly surprised to see yourself transforming into more of the person you want to be.

